**ELECTION 2014** 

# Candidates seeking seats on education, village boards

#### **BY DEAN COUSINO**

dean@monroenews.com

When voters head to the polls for the general election Nov. 4, they'll see candidates for school boards and villages.

There also will be independent candidates added to the ballot for other seats.

The filing deadline for all of those seats has passed and following is the list of candidates:

### BOARDS OF EDUCATION

There will be contests in at least four school districts but in Jefferson and Monroe, there were not enough candidates who filed to fill all of the seats available. Those spots likely will be determined by write-in votes.

# Airport Community Schools (two four-year seats and two six-year seats)

Four-year seats: Allen Joseph Burger, 13285 Armstrong Rd., South Rockwood; James M. Geiermann, 232 Monroe St., Carleton.

Six-year seats: Janice M. Doederlein, 4780 Scofield-Carleton Rd., Carleton; William Gretzler, 5151 Mattison Rd., South Rockwood; Bart Stasa, 14462 Maxwell Rd., Carleton.

## Bedford Public Schools (three four-year seats)

Timothy D. Brakel, 8420 Wolverine Rd., Temperance; Todd C. Bruning, 2980 Consear Rd., Lambertville; Joe Gore, 3200 White, Lambertville; Lisa Beins-McCaig, 6780 Lockmill, Temperance.

# Dundee Community Schools (two four-year seats and two six-year seats)

Four-year seats: Jacey L. Clevenger, 1491 Muehleisen Rd.; Gregg Keith, 1971 Wells Rd., Dundee.

Six-year seats: Scott Gizzi, 17060 Day Rd., Dundee; Teresa Lynn Marino, 7822 Dixon Rd.

### Flat Rock Community (three six-year seats)

Amy Carter, 29619 Sussex Ave., Flat Rock; Frank Hamet, 25565 Gibraltar Rd., Flat Rock; David Patterson, 25214 Hunter Lane, Flat Rock.

### Gibraltar Schools (four fouryear seats)

Lisa Darville, 31765 Hazel St., Rockwood; Marsha Kozmor, 14165 Navarre St., Gibraltar; Curt Boller, 20280 Indiana St., Brownstown Township; James Crapko, 14851 Stuart Ct.

### Huron Schools (three six-year seats)

Milos V. Milacic, 36700 Eliza-

beth Lane, New Boston; Jack Richert, 19601 Clark Rd., Belleville; Trena L. Szawara, 29702 West Rd., New Boston; Alice A. Whited, 28333 Grix Rd., New Boston.

### Ida Public Schools (two fouryear seats)

W. Dale Heil, 12337 Strasburg Rd., LaSalle; Jody L. Hoffman, 6006 W. Dunbar Rd.; Mark Mathis, 8481 S. Custer Rd.; Kristy Reeves-Taylor, 12603 Todd Rd., Ida.

### Jefferson Schools (three sixyear seats)

Rick Kull, 3009 Mentel Rd.; Theresa Sonoras, 5450 Spitfire Dr., Newport.

# Mason Consolidated Schools (four six-year and two two-year seats)

Six-year seats: Mike Ginther, 2856 Morin Point Rd., Erie; Bruce Stieben, 2310 Lotus Dr., Erie; Tara Tubbs, 2751 Luna Pier Rd., Erie.

Two-year seats: Andrea Mc-Garry, 3375 Swartz Rd., LaSalle; Jerry E. Yanak, 7264 Suder Rd., Erie.

Chandra Fowler of 2299 Manhattan St., Erie, is running as a write-in hopeful because she turned in her petition after the 4 p.m. deadline, said Laura Keehn, elections clerk for Monroe County.

### Monroe Public Schools (three four-year seats)

Cynthia L. Taylor, 934 St. James Park; June Knabusch-Taylor, 13656 Shady Lane.

# Summerfield Schools (three six-year terms)

Pete Boss, 2740 Summerfield Rd., Petersburg; Bridget Corie, 56 W. Walnut St., Petersburg; Rebecca Curley, 16990 Dixon Rd., Petersburg; Clinton H. Ford Jr., 3842 Forest Dr., Petersburg; Emily L. Hamilton, 15173 Cortz Rd., Petersburg.

### Whiteford Schools (three fouryear seats)

Christine Bischoff, 5258 Consear Rd., Ottawa Lake; Doug Bulmer, 5208 Consear Rd., Ottawa Lake; Dave Dixon, 5255 Consear Rd., Ottawa Lake.

### MCCC BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Six people are running for three seats on the Monroe County Community College Board of Trustees:

William H. Braunlich, 12192 N. Lakeshore Dr., LaSalle; Ignazio Cuccia, 216 Eagle Ct.; Lynette M. Dowler, 7227 Mentel Rd., Newport; Jack Schwab, 47 Linswood St.; Mary Kay Thayer, 4189 Little Streams Trail, Lambertville; Barbara J. Verran, 5365 N. Dixie Hwy., Newport.

#### VILLAGES

#### Carleton

Only two people filed to run for elected office in the Village of Carleton this fall, with writein hopefuls likely to fill seats on the village council.

On Nov. 4, voters will be filling a treasurer's job and four seats on the village council. Treasurer (two-year seat):

Cathy Coleman, 12962 Crane St., Carleton. Ms. Coleman was appointed to the post when Thom Zemke resigned.

Council (three four-year seats): Charles Collert, 12725 Crane St., Carleton.

Council (one two-year term): No candidates.

### **Estral Beach**

Five people are vying for Estral Beach Village Council but there are no races for clerk and treasurer:

Clerk: Carol Vandercook, 7196 Lakeshore.

Treasurer: Kristine Ledger, 6820 Lakeshore.

Council (three four-year seats) Elizabeth Millar, 7664 Lakeshore; Jim Wiegand, 6928 Lakeshore; Joseph Provost, 7442 Lakeshore; Debby Dare, 7448 Lakeshore; Jessica Anglin, 7438 Lakeshore.

### South Rockwood

There will be a four-way race for three seats on the South Rockwood Village Council but no race for president.

President (two-year seat): Daniel Tilley, 13240 Gildersleeve St., South Rockwood.

Council (three four-year seats): Clive Forrest, 5976 Carleton-Rockwood Rd., South Rockwood; Tom Bondy, 7595 S. Huron River Dr., South Rockwood; Lavonna Cox, 13368 Gildersleeve St., South Rockwood; Matheau Van Wassehnova, 7577 S. Huron River Dr., South Rockwood.

### OTHER PARTIES

R. Al Bain of 3501 N. Otter Creek Rd., has filed to run as a member of the U.S. Taxpayers Party for the Michigan House of Representatives 56th District seat in the Nov. 4 election.

He will face Democrat Tom Redmond and either Irma M. Kubiske or Jason Sheppard, both Republicans, Nov. 4. The GOP winner of the Aug. 5 primary will advance to the general election.